Growing Herbs from Seed

May 5, 2010 § 1 Comment

During the fall, I discovered How Not to Grow Herbs. Armed with that earned knowledge, I decided to give growing herbs from seed a try.  Being realistic, I decided to focus on basil and chives.  No parsley this time because I can count on one finger the number of times I’ve used parsley while cooking.  I’m happy to report that I’ve had much better success this time around.  Here’s what made a difference:

  1. Since my lovely Ikea pots still don’t have drainage holes, I’ve been carefully monitoring the moisture level of the pots to prevent over watering.  Allow the top 1/2 – 1 inch of soil to dry out before water. How, do I tell if the soil if the soil dry enough? Just insert  finger the pot, away from the  seedlings, of course.
  2. Control the light.  My desk lamp has been doubling as a growing light for the last few weeks.  It’s adjustable, so the light can been placed close to the seedings.  As an added bonus, the regular light created a nice warm environment that the basil seemed to especially love.
  3. Don’t give up too soon.  One day I was complaining to my husband that my basil still only had its cotyledon leaves, and the next I saw the beginning of real leaves.

It’s exciting to have a success that was a direct result of changing tactics- no special equipment or huge expenditures required.

§ One Response to Growing Herbs from Seed

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Growing Herbs from Seed at Inkful.

meta

