Vanilla Spice Oatmeal (for one)

April 27, 2010 § Leave a comment

In addition to gardening, I’ve been spending quite a bit of time experimenting in the kitchen. The goal is to move away from eating so many pre-made meals.  I often default to oatmeal packets for breakfast because they are fast and easy, but I recently discovered that I prefer making my own flavored hot cereal with quick oats.  It only takes a few extra minutes to grab something to stir in after the oats are cooked and the result is a good, easy breakfast:

Spice Vanilla Oatmeal:

1/2 cup quick oats

1 cup water

1 dash salt

2 teaspoons sugar or brown sugar

1/8 teaspoon Vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon Cinnamon

Nutmeg

  1. Combine quick oats, water, and salt in a ceramic bowl and microwave for 3 minutes.
  2. Stir in vanilla, sugar and spices.

I’m admittedly a picky eater, so even if this isn’t a fabulous, gourmet meal, I do know exactly what went into it and therefore exactly what I’m consuming.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vanilla Spice Oatmeal (for one) at Inkful.

meta

