3 Things Vegetable Gardening Has Taught Me

April 21, 2010 § 2 Comments

After a month of vegetable gardening I’ve already learned a few lessons. Yes, you read that correctly, I’m reflecting on lessons learned from a garden that hasn’t actually produced anything consumable as of yet.  So here is goes:

  1. Straight lines aren’t necessary, nor are  they an end goal.  This is good news because only ones I found come from the sides of the raised bed.  At least, it is doubtful that wobbly lines affect quality I’m hoping that things like sun and water will have a great impact.  
  2. Life handles things at its own pace and sometimes a little patience is exactly what’s needed.  Just when I became convince that squirrels has dug up each and every one of my snap peas seeds (hey, a squirrel conspiracy is possible), I started seeing sprouts. 
  3. Expect the unexpected.  I received two tarragon plants from an online catalog.  The first arrived with a snapped stalk, and I was so convince it was a goner that I begged customer service for a replacement.  Surprisingly, the ‘defective’ plant is small but still kicking; the same cannot be said of it’s supposed replacement.

Never fear, I am confident that my garden will produce something consumable eventually, and in the meantime we’ll see what else it has to teach.

§ 2 Responses to 3 Things Vegetable Gardening Has Taught Me

  • Fern says:

    Great post! I was just thinking about this exact same topic today. There’s so many good life lessons to learn from gardening. One of my favorites is a variation on your second lesson, “Everything happens in it’s own time.” When I was younger, it was hard for me to accept that things were on their own schedule, and that quite frankly, that schedule was better than the one I wanted. Try as much as you’d like, but a tomato seed will not sprout until soil temperatures have reached a certain warmth. Likewise, no matter how much I wanted to achieve something before I was physically, mentally or emotionally prepared, it just wasn’t going to happen.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 3 Things Vegetable Gardening Has Taught Me at Inkful.

meta

