Protecting Seedlings From Cold

April 8, 2010 § Leave a comment

Eekkk! I’m terribly worried about the weather coming our way over the next few days.  Now, that’s it is spring, we’re being hit by a winter storm.  Freezing temperatures at night are a very real possibility. My fingers are crossed that temperature won’t dip below freezing, but just in case protective action needs to be taken, I’ve done a little research.  And here’s what I’ve found:

  • Bring in your potted plants. Easy enough.
  • Cover your vulnerable, immoveable (and hopefully dry) plants- this is western Washington, so I’m just guessing my plants won’t be dry.  Preferably, cover your plants with cloth, not plastic because it might encourage condensation, which could freeze and defeat the purpose of all that effort.

Well, now that I’ve shared my little obsession here, I’ll continue to fixate anyway.  Fingers crossed that preventative measures won’t be necessary.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Protecting Seedlings From Cold at Inkful.

meta

