Vegetables Sprouting

April 3, 2010 § Leave a comment

 

My first vegetable garden is actually growing! I’ve been watching my raised bed very closely for signs of life since first planting peas, beets, lettuce, and mixed greens in mid-March.  The beets were the first to sprout, followed almost immediately by the lettuce and greens. 

For the last week, I’ve been watching for the peas, just waiting for them to sprout.  I’ve also been worrying about why they might not be sprouting, did the marauding squirrels get to my seeds before they had a chance to grow? Did I plant them too early? Did apply too much innocualnt? 

Then just as I gave up hope, I went out to the garden and there they were peeking up at me out of the soil.  There may have been a little jumping for joy, which I hope the neighbors missed.  Life, it seems, is pounding in the same lesson over and over recently- ‘be patient and don’t focus too much on one thing.’  I really do try to be patient, but it takes *a lot* of work on my part and frequent reminders from the universe.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vegetables Sprouting at Inkful.

meta

