Tree Pruning

March 24, 2010 § 2 Comments

We’re steadily chipping away at all the home improvement projects on our lists.  When we moved in over the summer, I claimed gardening and yard care as my responsibilities.  The yard was such a neglected mess that I’ve been dealing with the most visible problems first…  weeds, tree felling, and most recently some tree pruning.

A few months ago, I discovered the beautiful evergreen tree along our fence line had a double trunk.  Not good, right? I’m pretty sure most trees only have one trunk.  Well, that might be because trees with multiple trunks have a tendency to split.   The best way to address the issue before it becomes a problem is to prune the secondary trunk/leader.  Can I admit that I wasn’t happy with this solution? I was a little worried that the tree would look like a three-year old got ahold of a pair of scissors and gave herself a haircut.  Thankfully, the removal of the secondary trunk only left a few minor bald patches that will be covered by new growth over time.  For now, I admire the tree from its good side.

§ 2 Responses to Tree Pruning

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tree Pruning at Inkful.

meta

