Reusable Objects: Glass Jars

March 4, 2010 § 1 Comment

 

A few weeks ago, I picked up couple bouquets of flowers at the grocery store, thinking that they would be a pretty way to dress the table for a dinner party. It didn’t occur to me to think about what I would put them in until I arrived home and realized that our vases are still tucked away in moving boxes (no, I’m afraid they still haven’t been unpacked just yet).

A lucky stroke of inspiration had me rifling through our recycling bin- isn’t that a lovely picture?  I briefly considered wine bottles, before the mason jars hiding beneath them caught my eye.  I grabbed the handful of jars lurking in the bin, stuck them in a sink full of warm water.  After a little spa time, the labels just fell off the jar, no scrubbing required.  Except for the Classico Jars, those labels are well adhered by remarkably effective glue that I would love to use to keep my grocery list from  spontaneously disappearing.

Since then, I’ve put these glass jars to work .  I used one to store the leftover pickled onions that I made to accompany this Southwestern Pull Brisket recipe; I was afraid that the pickled onion smell would linger on our Tupperware.  Small jam jars are perfect for storing leftover soup because you can pop them in the microwave (sans lid, of course) to reheat.  All this I hope will justify my growing glass jar collection when my husband finally starts to inquire.

§ One Response to Reusable Objects: Glass Jars

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reusable Objects: Glass Jars at Inkful.

meta

