Squashing plans

October 16, 2009 § Leave a comment

A butternut squash from the Redmond farmer's market

A butternut squash from the Redmond farmer's market

This lovely butternut squash was purchased from the local farmer’s market.  Sure, I could have found one at the local supermarket, but I have specific plans for this yummy vegetable.  Part A of that plan is to make butternut squash soup, and really any butternut squash would be great for this purpose. However, Part B of my plan is to dry and save a few seeds to see if I can try grow butternut squash in my garden next year.  Given what I want to do, it seemed logical to want a squash that was grown here in the Pacific Northwest, so a supermarket squash wouldn’t fit the bill.

Making butternut squash soup is one of those things that can be as simple or as complicated as you’d like it.  Me, I  prefer simple, in this case, anyway. So here’s how I make my version of this soup. Saute half yellow onion with a couple tablespoons of butter in a stock pot until the onions turn translucent.  Then, add a peeled and cubed butternut squash and about 6 cups of low sodium chicken broth. Add herbs and seasoning to your preference- I like thyme or rosemary; some recipes I read called for fresh grated nutmeg. Lightly simmer everything until the squash is cooked through.  Then, run everything through a blender (or food processor if you have fancier kitchen appliance than I do) in small batches.  I found out the small batch bit is important because otherwise hot soup will erupt out of the blender. If you want a thicker soup you don’t use all of the chicken stock when you put everything through the blender.  That’s it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Squashing plans at Inkful.

meta

