Lessons from living in New Jersey

April 28, 2009 § Leave a comment

I’ve been feeling nostalgic about New Jersey the last few days because soon I will be moving west.  I tend to take my adopted state for granted and even put it down a little on occasion.  It occurred to me that I don’t give Jersey enough credit.  So, here three things that I’ve learned from living in New Jersey:

  1. Be offensive, be the first to take action instead of responding to others. This may have been learned while driving but it holds true in tackling life.
  2. Sometimes honest is better than nice.  Here honesty trumps niceness, so you usually know where things stand. Like, I know that the guy who almost backed into me at Home Depot today thought it was my fault because he rolled down his window and told me so. And he knew by the look on my face that I disagreed.
  3. Everyone deserves a day off every once in a while.  When I first moved to New Jersey, I lived in Bergen county where everything (unless it was a restaurant or a grocery) shut down on Sunday. That meant errands had to be dealt with on Saturdays or after work, leaving Sundays wide open. What did I do on Sunday’s? Grabbed a few extra hours of sleep and indulged my reading and cable news addictions.
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lessons from living in New Jersey at Inkful.

meta

