Enjoying unemployment

April 9, 2009 § Leave a comment

I have a confession to make- there is a good side to being
unemployed. The extra time and freedom gives me the opportunity to do three
things that I find absolutely luxurious:

  • Not waking up an alarm blaring in my ear at 5:30 am so that
    I get into Manhattan without spending precious moments in traffic waiting to
    get through the Lincoln Tunnel.
  • I get to read more. Extra time on my hands means that I am
    reading more blogs and more books on a wider variety of topics.  (I might
    even get ambitious and finally finish reading Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice;
    it's only been four years since I started reading it and 6 months since the
    last time I restarted from the beginning.)
  • I like how much better I feel and look when I go to the gym
    on a regular basis.

The reason I appreciate all of these things is because I
know that when I do find the right job, I will choose to focus other things.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Enjoying unemployment at Inkful.

meta

